One of Southampton’s best-known and most historically important landmarks, the 500-year old Tudor House on Bugle Street, will undergo major repairs and refurbishment to faithfully restore the city’s favourite museum spaces.
Wessex Electricals were recently awarded the full mechanical and electrical contract to repair, upgrade and extend the existing King Johns Palace and Tudor House in Southampton.
The UK’s leading restoration specialist Linford-Bridgeman were looking for a contractor that not only offered the complete building services package but who were able to demonstrate experience and competence to work in a grade 1 listed building environment.
With King John’s Palace located just to the rear of Tudor House Wessex Building Services were delighted to be entrusted with such a prestigious contract.
Tudor House in its present form – the distinctive, timbered building that dominates St Michael’s Square – was built in about 1492, but originally consisted of three dwellings dating back to c 1150. It has housed some of Southampton’s most prominent citizens, including, Sir Richard Lyster, who was Chief Justice of England, and George Rogers, a successful artist.
In addition to the mechanical and electrical works Wessex will also undertake access control, intruder and fire alarm and CCTV systems.
A specific requirement will be to fit bespoke scenic setting lighting design and installations that will enhance the interior décor.